A Lebanese Writer’s Ordeal By Charbel Tadros

Reply to topic     discoverlebanon.com Forum Index » Culture
  View previous topic
View next topic
A Lebanese Writer’s Ordeal By Charbel Tadros
admin
Site Admin

Post A Lebanese Writer’s Ordeal By Charbel Tadros Reply with quote
It’s easy being a writer. Everyone can write and everyone has ideas to share. I have been a writer since I was 10 years old. I started writing short bits and pieces of stories. However, it’s not easy being a writer when you have the talent, but not the entourages which will help you achieve every writer’s goal: to be read.

When I started writing, which was when I was around 10 years old, I had no friends or family members who ever were or ever cared about writing. All I had was some very supportive teachers who helped me sharpen my style. My family was supportive, just not experienced in that field to be of any real use, so I had to make it on my own. It also happened that I was very interested in the supernatural field and had read plenty of books about that. This, combined with an ability to write, contributed to my first ever published works which were a series of six articles about supernatural phenomena in a well known Lebanese newspaper.

But, though I was getting published, there were some little problems. The editor of the page I was writing for assumed that I was experienced in the field of journalism and so didn’t bother correcting any small mistakes in text. This is despite the fact that she knew that I was only 16 years old then. However, and here was an even bigger problem, the editor would just change my titles into very strange and meaningless titles which affected my reputation and I ended up getting some mean comments from readers.