Culture Survey From School in America

Reply to topic     discoverlebanon.com Forum Index » Culture
  View previous topic
View next topic
Culture Survey From School in America
Mhason

Post Culture Survey From School in America Reply with quote
Hi,

I am a college student in America at Franklin.edu and have been assigned Lebanon as my primary country to research. I have learned much in my research, and the pictures of your country are very beautiful. I was sorry to see all of the strife and hardships your country has faced in the past, and glad to see that the Lebanon still seems to succeed in spite of these hardships.

I have been asked to find someone from Lebanon that will answer some non-personal questions about their culture.

I have enjoyed learning about your country,

Thank you very much and have a wonderful day,

Mhason
mhason@gmail.com

Cultural Interview
1.Identify the culture and/or country of origin for the interviewee. Include how you met the person. -- Bulletin Board Smile
2.How do people greet each other – (shake hands, bow, embrace, other)?
3.As a visitor to the country, would you exchange gifts at the first meeting? What gifts are considered appropriate? If flowers, what kind? (Some have special meanings.)
4.How are children educated? At what age do they begin school? Do boys and girls generally go to separate schools, or are they separated by sex in the same school? Do they usually wear uniforms?
5.What is the literacy rate for the country? The interviewee may not know the answer to this question, but you can find this information by looking at CountryWatch.com database available at Franklin University’s library Web site.
6. How is garbage collection dealt with?
7.What is the normal dress for men and women?
8.What foods, if any, are generally not eaten or possibly considered taboo?
9.Are there gestures or movements that would not be acceptable in polite society?
10.Is it acceptable to bargain for goods at department stores or at markets?